Better Access to Justice in Western Balkan Countries

The project (September 2016 to August 2018) focuses on five Western Balkan countries that are parties to the Aarhus Convention: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia. It also includes Kosovo*, which has made efforts to implement the principles of the Aarhus Convention in its legislation and practices.

The overall project goal is to provide targeted support to selected Aarhus Convention parties and stakeholders in the SEE region to further reduce the major gaps regarding access to justice under the convention.

In addition, the project will strengthen the implementation capacities of officials responsible for the Aarhus Convention. It will increase the knowledge and awareness of judges, legal professionals and CSOs on access to justice in environmental matters, and will enable CSOs to gain and use skills to enforce their rights.

Related documents